Four Decades of Research on Massive Stars
A Scientific Meeting in the Honour of Anthony F.J. Moffat

11-15 July 2011

Venue: Québec, Canada

We are organizing a meeting to celebrate four decades of contributions of Professor Anthony F.J. Moffat to massive-star research. Since his first papers on open clusters in the early 70’s, Tony’s research interests have expanded in many directions to cover a multitude of aspects of massive stars. The meeting will encompass the following main subjects on which he has worked during his career:

1. Young open star clusters: keys to understanding massive stars
2. Galactic structure and dynamics; runaway stars
3. Massive binaries: orbits, masses, mass-loss rates, binary frequency, colliding winds, dust formation
4. The most massive stars
5. The true nature of clumping in hot stellar winds and its consequences
6. Rotation and magnetic fields
7. Pulsations (e.g. MOST and soon BRITE-Constellation)
8. WR surveys (Galactic and extra-galactic)

We invite you to the Auberge du Lac Taureau in the beautiful region of Lanaudière, Québec, Canada to present your latest research and for stimulating discussions on the above-listed topics.

Important dates:

Web site opens and start of pre-registration: 18 October 2010
Deadline for early registration: 1 March 2011
Abstract submission deadline: 3 April 2011
Registration fee and hotel reservation deadline: 16 May 2011

The Scientific Organizing Committee

Nicole St-Louis, Université de Montréal
Laurent Drissen, Université Laval
Carmelle Robert, Université Laval
Paul Crowther, The University of Sheffield
Doug Gies, Georgia State University, CHARA
Stan Owocki, The Bartol Research Institute, University of Delaware
Julian Pittard, The University of Leeds
Mike Shara, The American Museum of Natural History, New York
Gregg Wade, Royal Military College of Canada, Kingston
Hans Zinnecker, Astrophysikalisches Institut Potsdam

The Local Organising Committee:

Nicole St-Louis, Université de Montréal
Laurent Drissen, Université Laval
Carmelle Robert, Université Laval
Robert Lamontagne, Université de Montréal
Luc Turbide, Université de Montréal
Antoine de la Chevrotière, Université de Montréal
Rémi Fahed, Université de Montréal
Alexandre David-Uraz, Université de Montréal
Sébastien Desforges, Université de Montréal