Four Decades of Research on Massive Stars
A Scientific Meeting in the Honour of Anthony F.J. Moffat

11-15 July 2011

Venue: Auberge du Lac Taureau, Lanaudière, Québec, Canada

Second Announcement

We are organizing a meeting to celebrate four decades of contributions of Professor Anthony F.J. Moffat to massive-star research. Since his first papers on open clusters in the early 70’s, Tony’s research interests have expanded in many directions to cover a multitude of aspects of massive stars. The meeting will encompass the main subjects on which he has worked during his career. Please go to our Web site for more details.

Conference Web Site:

We invite you to the Auberge du Lac Taureau in the beautiful region of Lanaudière, Québec, Canada to present your latest research and for stimulating presentations and discussions.

Official registration is now open! For those who have pre-registered please note that it is not considered an official registration, but only a statement of interest. You will be able to submit an abstract and appear on the list of participants only after you have officially registered and paid the registration fees. We will have posters, 20-minute contributed talks (around 50) and about a dozen 30-minute invited talks. If necessary, the SOC will decide by late March/early April, which participants are chosen for contributed talks and which will present a poster.

Our registration fee will be 230$CAN (late fee=300$CAN) and will include a printed copy of the proceedings, which will be published by the Astronomical Society of the Pacific in their Conference Series, taxes, programs and an abstract book.

Important dates:

Web site opens and start of pre-registration: 18 October 2010
Deadline for early registration: 15 March 2011
Abstract submission deadline: 15 April 2011
Registration fee and hotel reservation deadline: 16 May 2011
Deadline for registration (higher registration fee): 10 June 2011

The Scientific Organizing Committee

Nicole St-Louis, Université de Montréal
Laurent Drissen, Université Laval
Carmelle Robert, Université Laval
Paul Crowther, The University of Sheffield
Doug Gies, Georgia State University, CHARA
Stan Owocki, The Bartol Research Institute, University of Delaware
Julian Pittard, The University of Leeds
Mike Shara, The American Museum of Natural History, New York
Gregg Wade, Royal Military College of Canada, Kingston
Hans Zinnecker, Astrophysikalisches Institut Potsdam

The Local Organising Committee:

Nicole St-Louis, Université de Montréal
Laurent Drissen, Université Laval
Carmelle Robert, Université Laval
Robert Lamontagne, Université de Montréal
Luc Turbide, Université de Montréal
Antoine de la Chevrotière, Université de Montréal
Rémi Fahed, Université de Montréal
Alexandre David-Uraz, Université de Montréal
Sébastien Desforges, Université de Montréal