## PREFACE

The Ninth Texas-Mexico Conference on Astrophysics was held in San Antonio, Texas, during April 13 to 16, 2005. As usual in this Conference Series, the meeting brought together professional astrophysicists and interested students from numerous institutions in the Texas-Mexico region, as well as from several other states and countries. More than 60 participants from more than a dozen institutions discussed forefront topics of astrophysics and presented their own research. The Ninth Conference provided many valuable scientific exchanges.

The scientific program, held on the campus of Trinity University, involved 53 oral and poster presentations, including 10 featured talks. The topics of the meeting emphasized the Conference Series' traditional themes on nebular and interstellar medium investigations, along with strong contributions in the fields of stellar and planetary studies, gamma ray bursts, infrared surveys, the early universe, black holes, active galaxies, LIGO, galaxy formation and evolution, science education, instrumentation, and large telescope initiatives in the area.

The Scientific Organizing Committee consisted of Gordon MacAlpine (Co-Chair, Trinity University), Greg Shields (Co-Chair) and Harriet Dinerstein from the University of Texas at Austin, Reggie Dufour and Christopher Johns-Krull from Rice University, and Manuel Peimbert and Miriam Peña from the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México.

The Local Organizing Committee at Trinity University consisted of Gordon MacAlpine (Chair), Eugene Clark, David Hough, Barbara MacAlpine, Dennis Ugolini, and Steven Vanderveer.

This meeting was made possible by the generous logistical and financial support of Trinity University, the Instituto de Astronomía, UNAM, the University of Texas at Austin, and Rice University. The Mexican delegation also gratefully acknowledges financial support from Consejo Técnico de la Investigación Científica and DGAPA, UNAM.

The primary cost of this publication has been provided by the Instituto de Astronomía, UNAM.

We would like to thank all the participants for a fruitful and very pleasant meeting.

Gordon MacAlpine and Miriam Peña Scientific Organizing Committee

## LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Itziar Aretxaga Luc Binette Volker Bromm Ed Churchwell Eugene Clark Eric Danielson Harriet Dinerstein Niv Drorv Reggie Dufour Michael Endl Neal Evans Giovanni Fossati Adriana Gazol J. Jesús González Jocelly Guie Pat Hartigan Dick Henry Peter Hoeflich David Hough Marcos Huerta David Hughes Pamela Jean Shardha Jogee Claudia Knez Chris Johns-Krull Eiichiro Komatsu John Kormendy John Lacy Henry Lee William Lee Edison Liang Gordon MacAlpine Karen Menezes Curt Michel Brian Moore

Inst. Nal. Astrofís. Óptica y Electrónica IA, Univ. Nacional Autónoma de México University of Texas at Austin University of Wisconsin Trinity University Trinity University University of Texas at Austin University of Texas at Austin Rice University University of Texas at Austin University of Texas at Austin Rice University CRyA, Morelia, Univ. Nal. Aut. de México IA, Univ. Nacional Autónoma de México University of Texas at Austin Rice University University of Oklahoma University of Texas at Austin Trinity University **Rice University** Inst. Nal. Astrofís. Óptica y Electrónica University of Texas at Austin University of Texas at Austin University of Texas at Austin **Rice University** University of Texas at Austin University of Texas at Austin University of Texas at Austin University of Minnesota IA, Univ. Nacional Autónoma de México **Rice University** Trinity University University of Texas at Austin **Rice University** Rice University Christophe Morisset IA, Univ. Nacional Autónoma de México University of Oklahoma University of Texas at Austin

itziar@inaoep.mx binette@astroscu.unam.mx vbromm@astro.as.utexas.edu ebc@astro.wisc.edu eclark@trinity.edu edaniels@trinity.edu harriet@astro.as.utexas.edu drorv@astro.as.utexas.edu rjd@rice.edu mike@astro.as.utexas.edu nje@astro.as.utexas.edu gfossati@rice.edu a.gazol@astrosmo.unam.mx jesus@astroscu.unam.mx jocelly@mail.utexas.edu hartigan@rice.edu henry@mail.nhn.ou.edu pah@astro.as.utexas.edu dhough@trinity.edu marcosh@rice.edu dhughes@inaoep.mx poumfissime@hotmail.com sj@astro.as.utexas.edu claudia@astro.as.utexas.edu cmj@rice.edu komatsu@astro.as.utexas.edu kormendy@astro.as.utexas.edu lacy@astro.as.utexas.edu hlee@astro.umn.edu wlee@astroscu.unam.mx liang@spacsun.rice.edu gmacalpi@trinity.edu rezonanz@hotmail.com fcm@rice.edu bemo@galaxy.rice.edu morisset@astroscu.unam.mx nava@nhn.ou.edu eva@astro.as.utexas.edu

Aida Nava

Eva Novola