PREFACE

The 3rd Korea-Mexico joint workshop on "Telescopes of the Future and San Pedro Mártir" was held in Mexico City from November 8–11, 2005. There were 110 registered participants, with 68 from Mexico, 23 from Korea, and 19 from the United States, Spain, and Great Britain. The scientific program consisted of 49 oral presentations and more than a dozen posters.

The goal of this workshop was to bring together astronomers from Korea and Mexico, along with interested parties from other countries, to explore the potential of the San Pedro Mártir observatory for large and leading-edge technology telescopes. In particular, the workshop covered a broad range of astrophysical problems that can be addressed with such telescopes, and the key technical aspects of telescope optimization in order to carry out the proposed science. The conference was timed to coincide with and to commemorate the centennial anniversary of Korean immigration to Mexico.

The meeting opened with a welcoming statement from the Korean ambassador to Mexico, Kyu Hyung Cho. Also addressing the opening ceremony were Dr. Seok Jae Park, president of the Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute and Dr. José Franco, director of the Astronomy Institute of the UNAM. Participating in the opening ceremonies were Dr. Hong Bae Ann, president of the Korean Astronomical Society, and Dr. Inwoo Han, principal investigator of the Korea-Mexico telescope project. The meeting culminated with the reading of a memorandum of understanding, to undertake a conceptual study of two complementary 6.5 meter optical telescopes and their associated instrumentation, to be located at the National Observatory at San Pedro Mártir.

The Scientific Organizing Committee included Inwoo Han and José Franco as co-chairs, and Se-Hyung Cho, Seungsoo Hong, Jongsoo Kim, Sug-Whan Kim, Bon-Chul Koo, Myung Gyoon Lee, Youngung Lee, Young-Wook Lee, Guillermo García-Segura, Jesús Gonzáles, José Guichard, Gloria Koenigsberger, José Alberto López, Manuel Peimbert, Arcadio Poveda, Roberto Terlevich, and Alan Watson. The Local Organizing Committee was represented by Guillermo García-Segura, Liliana Hernández, Maite Rozas, Stan Kurtz, Antonio Sánchez, Lila Perillat, and Rosario Sánchez.

We express our sincere thanks to all those who made the conference a success, and particularly to CONACyT and KOSEF for their financial support.

Stan Kurtz, José Franco, Seungsoo Hong, Guillermo García-Segura, Alfredo Santillán, Jongsoo Kim, & Inwoo Han Editors